2017-18 University Bulletin 
    May 30, 2024  
2017-18 University Bulletin [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

4+4 Early Acceptance Program (EAP) with the LECOM School of Dental Medicine

The 4+4 Early Acceptance Program in which Adelphi University undergraduate students are enrolled by Adelphi University and accepted by LECOM as participants in the EAP. The Early Acceptance Program is designed to facilitate the admission of Adelphi University students into LECOM’s Doctor of Dental Medicine program. LECOM will interview students prior to their enrollment at Adelphi University or within the first two years of study at Adelphi. Students interviewing successfully will be offered a provisional acceptance to LECOM’s Doctor of Dental Medicine program. Upon meeting the criteria for final acceptance and graduating from Adelphi University, they will matriculate at the LECOM School of Dental Medicine campus in Bradenton, Florida. 

Through this program with one of the newest dental school in the nation, students are able to complete their Adelphi education while preparing to pursue a career in dentistry. The LECOM School of Dental Medicine provides clinical experiences early in the dental education training process by working with patients in LECOM’ group practice on the Florida Campus. Students can gain additional experience both in Florida and another facility in Pennsylvania, as they pursue their dental studies.

To be considered for the program students need:

  • A minimum cumulative high school unweighted average of 3.5
  • (LECOM will not accept CLEP or IB credits to fulfill specific science requirements )
  • Adelphi University can accept Advanced Placement (AP) credits to fulfill other degree requirements on a case by case basis.
  • An SAT Score of 1260 and above or an ACT score of 26 or above is required. The SAT or ACT must be taken before enrollment at Adelphi.
  • Letters of recommendation and an essay related to the student’s interest in dentistry are also required.

Application to the EAP is initiated by doing an inquiry through a link on the LECOM portal (http://portal.lecom.edu). All applicants should also contact the Adelphi University’s Director of PreProfessional Advising for the Adelphi EAP enrollment requirements.

The Early Acceptance Program is comprised of two phases. Phase I is defined as the years of undergraduate education while at Adelphi University. Phase II consists of the dental school education while at LECOM and its associated clinical training sites.

Applicants wishing to be notified that they are qualified to receive their letter of provisional acceptance prior May 1 of the year of Adelphi University matriculation should complete the LECOM online EAP application by March 1 of the year of Adelphi matriculation.

Students already matriculated at Adelphi University should complete the LECOM on-line EAP application before starting their third year of study at Adelphi.

Dental Shadowing experiences are also expected.

Provisionally accepted students may not apply to any other dental school. Application to another dental school will result in the loss of the student’s provisional acceptance.

Transfer students may be accepted on a case by case basis.

Each academic year, a maximum of five (5) students will be accepted by LECOM into Phase II from Adelphi University’s Early Acceptance Program. The program is highly competitive.

Final Admission to the LECOM School of Dental Medicine is subject to the applicant’s meeting the following minimum criteria:

A Cumulative Overall GPA ≥ 3.4 and Cumulative Science GPA ≥ 3.2. The GPAs will be determined by LECOM. Grades from all completed courses, including repeated courses, will be used.
DAT : Scores in the area of 20 or higher will be expected for the Academic Average, Reading Comprehension and Perceptual Ability sections.
Shadowing (~100 hrs) in a clinical dental setting is highly recommended.

All students must complete the AADSAS application including appropriate letters of reference letters and additional material.

The LECOM School of Dental Medicine only accepts applicants who are U.S. citizens or permanent residents.